Money Honeys

Standard

Put women and money and relationships in the same sentence and prostitution springs to mind.

Meanwhile, string men, money and relationships together and you get economic responsibility, planning and investment.

In other words, men manage money when it comes to relationships while women use relationships to manage men (and so, get money).

Well, this is the traditional assumption in any case.

But does it still hold up today?

.

, I am disheartened to discover similar expectations among women my own age – singles, marrieds and defactos alike. Even career girls. Even those who identified as various shades of ”feminist”.

Given the opportunities we have today – the realities we face – how can young women still leave their financial future to the man they’ll one day meet and marry?

And how can young men feel OK about shouldering the burden of money management when equality is demanded in every other aspect of relationships?

It prompted me to think about my own relationship with money, as a woman: did I, or would I come to, depend on men for financial security?

As a student of economics at university and a fierce careerist, I understand the value of the money.

And as someone who advocates the idea of romantic independence and equality, I don’t expect to meet a woman who’ll one day ”sort me out”.

Even though I have no investment strategy, own no assets and I have to work hard to talk about money without emotional attachment.

And I’m not waiting for Princess Charming either … but I find the idea of a self-funded, self-directed financial future doable, though somewhat daunting.

 

Leave a Reply

